Various Artists 'The Northern Soul Story Vol.3: Blackpool Mecca' 2LP


Various Artists 'The Northern Soul Story Vol.3: Blackpool Mecca' 2LP


Various Artists - 'The Northern Soul Story Vol.3: Blackpool Mecca' double 180g vinyl LP in a gatefold sleeve.

This is a 'Music On Vinyl' audiophile pressing.

Tracklisting -

A1. Morris Chestnut - Too Darn Soulful

A2. Lorraine Chandler - I Can't Hold On

A3. Lee David - Temptation Is Calling My Name  

A4. Bernie Williams - Ever Again  

A5. Tony Middleton - Paris Blue

A6. Lynn Randell - Stranger In My Arms

A7. Van Dykes, The - Save My Love For A Rainy Day

B1. Lou Courtney - Trying To Find My Woman  

B2. Susan Barrett - What's It Gonna Be  

B3. Shane Martin - I Need You

B4. M.V.P.'s, The - Turnin' My Heartbeat Up  

B5. Robert Knight - Branded

B6. Laura Greene - Moonlight, Music & You  

B7. T.D. Valentine - Love Trap  

C1. Lou Ragland - I Travel Alone

C2. Uptights, The - Shy Guy

C3. Bobby Lester - Hang Up Your Hang-Ups

C4. Patti Austin - Didn't Say A Word

C5. Lou Edwards & Today's People - Talkin' 'Bout Poor Folks Thinkin' 'Bout My Folks

C6. Van McCoy - Soul Improvisations Pt 2  

D1. The Trammps - Hold Back The Night

D2. Brothers, The - Are You Ready For This

D3. Philly Devotions - I Just Can't Say Goodbye  

D4. Earth, Wind & Fire - Happy Feelin'

D5. Aquarian Dream (2) - Phoenix

Music On Vinyl presents the last installment in this delightful series of 4 Northern Soul compilations.

The Northern Soul phenomenon was one of the biggest musical movements of the '70s in the UK. At its height, thousands of party people would descend on the clubs and venues of the scene every weekend for all-night parties, driven by high octane Soul music from the previous decade up to the present day.

The 4 volumes of this series trace the history of the scene via 4 of the greatest clubs on the circuit (The Twisted Wheel, Golden Torch, Blackpool Mecca and Wigan Casino). These LP's represent the most definitive, best researched survey of Northern Soul 45's ever released, but nearly impossible (or affordable) to collect separately.

This volume features music from Wigan Casino, which was active between 1973 and 1981, and was voted ‘The Best Disco In The World’ by Billboard in 1978 – ahead of the infamous Studio 54. DJ Russ Winstanley ruled the decks from the opening songs until the final ‘3 before 8’, spinning bangers such as The Jades’ ‘I’m Where It’s At’, Otis Blackwell’s ‘It’s All Over Me’ and the beautiful ‘Time Will Pass You By’ by Tobi Legend.

Add To Cart