Bert Jansch 'A Man I’d Rather Be (Part 1)' 4LP box set


Bert Jansch 'A Man I’d Rather Be (Part 1)' 4LP box set


Bert Jansch - 'A Man I’d Rather Be (Part 1)' four vinyl LP box set in case bound book on the Earth Records label.

Tracklisting -

LP1: Bert Jansch
1. Strolling Down The Highway
2. Smokey River
3. Oh How Your Love Is Strong
4. I Have No Time
5. Finches
6. Ramblings Going To Be The Death Of Me
7. Veronica
8. Needle Of Death
9. Do You Hear Me Now?
10. Alice's Wonderland
11. Running From Home
12. Courting Blues
13. Casbah
14. Dreams Of Love
15. Angie

LP2: It Don’t Bother Me
1. Oh My Babe
2. Ring-A- Ding Bird
3. Tinker's Blues
4. Anti Apartheid
5. The Wheel
6. A Man I'd Rather Be
7. My Lover
8. It Don't Bother Me
9. Harvest Your Thoughts Of Love
10. Lucky Thirteen
11. As The Day Grows LoNger Now
12. So Long (Been On The Road So Long)
13. Want My Daddy Now
14. 900 Miles

LP3: Jack Orion
1. The Waggoner's Lad
2. The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face
3. Jack Orion
4. The Gardener
5. Nottamun Town
6. Henry Martin
7. Black Water Side
8. Pretty Polly

LP4: Bert And John
1. East Wind
2. Piano Tune
3. Goodbye Pork Pie Hat
4. Soho
5. Tic-Tocative
6. Orlando
7. Red's Favorite
8. No Exit
9. Along The Way
10. The Time Has Come
11. Stepping Stones
12. After The Dance

Comprising Bert’s seminal 1960s output (alongside his only album as a duet with Pentangle bandmate John Renbourn) this four disc set covers an era that forged creative paths for everyone from Neil Young to Johnny Marr. New listening notes from Bill Leader, as well as unseen photographs from Brian Shuel complete this special collection. Where to start with a career as prolific as that of Bert Jansch? Why, the beginning of course. Bert’s first studio (though as Bill Leader rightly points out, that’s a bit of a stretch) albums capture a man whose star is truly on the rise. It also marks his most prolific period - these four LPs were written, recorded and issued in just two years; a testament to not only Bert’s abundant musicality but to a time for music that was changing - excitedly - from minute to minute. From Bert’s masterclass in elegant, melodic, one-man- and-his- guitar fingerpicking on his self-titled LP, to the beginnings of something altogether more exotic on ‘Bert and John’, these records are nothing if not a remarkable insight into the changing face of folk music at the time. For those unfamiliar with Jansch’s oeuvre, this is a real treat; you won’t find a more comprehensively produced collection. ‘A Man I’d Rather Be’ includes all the original liner notes (from both Keith De Groot and Bert himself) as well as new ruminations from Bill Leader (who recorded much of Jansch’s nascent work) as well as never-before seen photographs by the illustrious Brian Shuel. For those in the know, this is a chance to revisit these extraordinary albums, revel in new insights and add some - perhaps more listenable LPs - to sit alongside their love-worn originals.

Add To Cart