Gil Scott-Heron 'Nothing New' LP & DVD


Gil Scott-Heron 'Nothing New' LP & DVD


Gil Scott-Heron 'Nothing New' vinyl LP with full documentary 'Who Is Gil Scott-Heron' on DVD.

Tracklisting -

1. Did You Hear What They Said
2. Better Days Ahead
3. Household Name (Interlude)
4. Your Daddy Loves You
5. Changing Yourself (Interlude)
6. Pieces Of A Man
7. Enjoying Yourself (Outro)
8. Alien (Hold On To Your Dreams)
9. Before I Hit The Bottom (Interlude)
10. 95 South (All The Places We’ve Been)
11. The Other Side
12. The On/Off Switch (Interlude)
13. Blue Collar
14. On Bobby Blue Bland (Outro)

‘Nothing New’ by Gil Scott-Heron is an album of stripped down vocal and piano versions of songs from his back catalogue, recorded in New York with producer Richard Russell between
2005 and 2009.

The genesis of ‘Nothing New’ dates back to 2005, when Richard Russell first approached Gil with the suggestion of making a new record. Part of the initial suggestion was to record spartan versions of some of Gil’s old songs, something that both parties thought intriguing. Although recording initially started off that way, the album gradually evolved into something very different: 2010’s acclaimed ‘I’m New Here’ album which, as the title suggests, didn’t touch on any of Gil’s previous recordings (except ‘Your Soul And Mine’, which is essentially a reimagining of ‘The Vulture’ from Scott-Heron’s 1970 debut album ‘Small
Talk At 125th And Lennox’). ‘I’m New Here’ placed Gil’s distinctive voice in a very modern context.

Add To Cart